“The world is my family.” – Maha Upanishad 6.71

 

Hello, all! And a dear, sweet Tuesday to you. This week’s post is coming to you from a scratchy throat and a snotty nose, thanks to the microbes vacationing in my body. I’m not terribly surprised I’m sick after last week’s busy schedule, but it’s a bummer, nonetheless.

Last week was a wonderful week of Garuda teacher training, leading dance creation workshops for kids, celebrating a birthday (not mine) and family time, and Mother’s Day. Through teaching kids dance improv and choreography, I felt like I finally found something I really love. Leading those workshops was one of the first times I’ve felt really on the right track, like I had maybe stumbled onto something I’m meant to do more of.

Last week was really fulfilling, and inspiring. I had teachers tell me they learned things about how their kids behave in a movement workshop vs. in the classroom, and that they had lots to think about, as far as using movement in the classroom. I had kids with a variety of rather difficult and energetic behaviours end up surpassing my plans for what I wanted to teach them. I was inspired to see my former fine arts elementary school still going strong, full of bright, creative minds and bodies. I loved doing more training in teaching Garuda, and being around women who are passionate about opening up people’s potential for movement. 

Life is funny, and opposites exist together, always. Last week was wonderful, but it was also terrible. I hope that even if you do not live in Alberta, or in Canada, you are aware of the situation in Fort McMurray, and the people who fled their beloved city after wildfires spread throughout the town. An entire city of 88,000 people was evacuated. It’s hard to comprehend. Harder still to fathom is how that many people fled raging fire without injury, and with minimal loss of life (N.B. For the first few days after the evacuation order, there were no reports on deaths in the fire. We later learned two teenagers were killed in a car accident while fleeing the city. You can read more about Emily Ryan and Aaron Hodgson here. At this point, I’m not sure if there have been others injured, but these are the facts I have at the moment.) 

I struggle with today’s topic, because I feel this event and its people must be honoured. At the same time, so many others have already written beautiful articles and have given the facts and updates about the situation. I want to honour, but I also don’t want to belabour. By no means am I trying to ignore the sadness and the severity of the situation. Rather, I hope to focus on the light today. And every day. It’s what I have to do for my own sanity, and what I think so many people do to survive and to thrive in their lives. 

It seems silly, but this cold has reminded me, again, of what needs attention in my life. And, undoubtedly, the devastation in Fort McMurray, whose effects have already rippled through Alberta and Canada, has made us pause and see what is truly important. As I’ve mentioned in a previous post:

When we’re at our scariest moments in life, during a crisis or emergency, everything else in our life falls away to reveal what matters most. And that’s usually our relationships we have with people with love. And that’s about it. 

My heart has been so full all week, from my own inspirations and sweet moments with kids, to seeing how wholeheartedly Albertans have opened their homes and given their time to make the evacuees’ situation as comfortable as possible. There is love, here. There is love all around us, thriving in the smoke of danger and fear.

 

“Be soft. Do not let the world make you hard. Do not let pain make you hate. Do not let bitterness steal your sweetness.” – Kurt Vonnegut

 

The more I live, the more I realize and really experience that love is all there is. Replace anything – fear, anxiety, anger, sadness – with love, and you will be amazed at the instant positivity it creates. Now, it might take practice, this love thing. You might not yet be convinced that love can change the world. If you’re sad or fearful or anxious, love might seem too generic, and too much like a band-aid solution. But, I’m speaking from the heart on this one, and I know love fixes all. It may start with loving ourselves before we can fully understand the love of others. Or, it might be the love of others that teaches us our worth. Love for your community, for your earth, will extend into your work, and will influence your actions towards others and towards yourself.

What if living was not living, but loving? A thought for today.

I don’t have much more to say. This past week, I’ve been simultaneously operating in two worlds. I’ve been surrounded by news about wildfire and local heroes, while also being cocooned in the love of my family and community while doing the things I love. Both worlds function symbiotically, I think. Love passes from one into the other, until all that is left is love. 

This post likely hasn’t left you with an “a-ha” moment; we’ve all heard this before. Rather, I hope I’ve left you thinking, “yes. Yes.”

Today, and this week, love in your own way. Don’t worry: You won’t turn into an annoying Care Bear or Barney the Dinosaur if you truly and authentically love. Love is a natural feeling for us. Follow the natural desire to love, even in the tiniest way. Even if you love yourself a little more this week, you will have made tremendous strides. Remember your softness this week.

Calvin and Hobbes Susie.gif

With love, as always, and a few sniffles (remember, I have a cold…).

Mariel xo

Leave a comment